Books like homeroom diaries. Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson, Lisa Papademetriou Book Reviews 2019-03-04

Books like homeroom diaries Rating: 6,8/10 1402 reviews

Book review of Homeroom Diaries

books like homeroom diaries

How long will the file be downloaded? But this task proves to be harder than expected with the freakshow facing barriers from students and faculty alike. It's not wholly a graphic novel, probably a bit less than half, but it still took some getting use to. Considering the age difference, which Patterson and Papademetriou kept trying to gloss, it just is so wrong on so many levels, though it is presented as being a romantic, happy possibility. Does what happened to Cuckoo and her friends on Facebook seem like something that could happen at your school? Parents need to know that Homeroom Diaries, by and , can be used to open up conversations about as well as depression and suicide. Margaret 'Cuckoo' Clarke recently had a brief stay in a mental institution following an emotional breakdown, but she's turning over a new leaf with her 'Operation Happiness'. She likes to go by the nickname Cuckoo. This book is about a girl who calls herself Cuckoo Clarke.

Next

Book review of Homeroom Diaries

books like homeroom diaries

Also the illustrations were just amazing and they really brought the book to life and I really loved them and I loved this book and I any wait to purchase my own copy. This was… a strange book. James Patterson has donated more than one million books to students, focusing on some of the most under-resourced schools and youth programs in the country. I was distracted by the graphics in the beginning. Those types of books come around every now and then. The tone of the book reminds me a lot of all of those Nickelodeon and Disney tween television shows so I am guessing the intended audience will actually enjoy reading the book, but I found that it threw in some pretty serious topics and glossed them over a little too easily.

Next

Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson;Lisa Papademetriou

books like homeroom diaries

This book really shines a light on, not just the power of friendship, but the power of love and understanding among strangers. I thought the art by Keino throughout Homeroom Diaries was outstanding. Book Summary: The title of this book is Homeroom Diaries and it was written by , ,. As usual, nobody asked me to do this tag — but I decided to do it anyway, since tomorrow is Easter Day, and everyone knows that the true meaning of Easter is chocolate right? She is in protective services custody and lives with her former neighbor, Mrs. . He is the internationally bestselling author of the Middle School series, Treasure Hunters, and the I Funny, Confessions, Maximum Ride, the Witch and Wizard, Daniel X, and Alex Cross series. James' first Mistake was to put his name on this book at all.


Next

James Patterson

books like homeroom diaries

A girl's Facebook account is hacked, and her status is changed to say she performs oral sex in exchange for money. I did find myself interested in what was happening to Cuckoo and her friends, though. Though I wasn't expecting it, there were moments that were touching. Maggie, aka Cuckoo, was just released from a 10-day stay at the mental hospital. In 2001, Morgan Freeman starred as Alex Cross in a film adaptation of Along Came a Spider, and Tyler Perry also played the character in the 2012 film Alex Cross. The only book I've read with illustrations was written by Alexie Sherman entitled The Story of a Part-time Indian, and this one. She's determined to beat down the bad vibes of the Haters, the Terror Teachers, and all of the trials and tribulations of high school by writing and drawing in her diary.

Next

book: homeroom diaries

books like homeroom diaries

While the concept of a book being written in diary form is quite popular, James Patterson ups the ante by creating a relatable character that you truly care about. She tells the story of her life. After being determined mentally stable, if not a little damaged, Cuckoo begins her new life with Mrs. And when life gets really tough, she works through her own moments of uncertainty through imaginary conversations with her favourite literary characters. It's easy to fall in love with this band of misfits as they work on their happiness, hug one another in hard times, and devise a creative if far-fetched plan to make their school culture healthier. And when life gets really tough, she works through her own moments of uncertainty through imaginary conversations with her favorite literary characters.

Next

James Patterson

books like homeroom diaries

It starts with three terrifying murders in the American South. In between is the gripping story of a ruthless assassin, the woman he loves, and the beloved leader he is hired to kill. If the server does not provide a quick download, then we remove it from the list. The steampunk elements took me a little by surprise, as well, though — with the exception of the skyship — they were mostly relegated to the background, and not too noticeable… Overall, though, this was an incredibly fun story, and I really look forward to reading the rest of the series sometime soon. Though containing plenty of laughable comedy, the book heavily touched upon the quite serious topic of mental illness as well as other debatable topics. The main draw of this book, though, is the characters. The book includes some pretty interesting illustrations, supposedly done by Cuckoo herself.

Next

Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson, Lisa Papademetriou Book Reviews

books like homeroom diaries

A Dark Horn Blowing by Dahlov Ipcar. Patterson and Papademetriou quickly establish the deep love and respect between Cuckoo and Mrs. And these were not dainty little giggles or chuckles, they were full out laughs, where I had to re-read paragraphs just so I could laugh again. Another good month of reading! However as the book went on, I enjoyed it more and more. So cuckoo has just come out of a mental hospital and she's been struggling with depression obviously and in spite of this she is so positive and she is just such a heart warming character than in spite of how bad things get for her and the events that I honestly loved this book. This novel is basically about this group of friends who called themselves the Freakshow. When coming closer to the end, I was almost always hoping that the next page would be the credits.

Next

Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson, Lisa Papademetriou, Keino (9781478953661)

books like homeroom diaries

Oh, and a boy assaults her. Read more of my reviews at. Homeroom Diaries is not just funny pictures though, there is a kick ass story in there too. I thought it was super cute. I highly recommend this book to people ages 11+ It had a few cuss words just a warning for those particular parents.

Next